Harivansh Narayan Singh Won As DC In Rajyasabha With Just 20 Votes Difference
Category: BJP

In a tight contest for Deputy Chairman post in Rajya Sabha, NDA's candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh won with 125 votes while his opponent BK Hariprasad of Congress got 105 votes. Harivansh, who is an MP of Biju Janata Dal Party is a three time Rajya Sabha member and a former journalist.

Regional parties like Aam Aadmi, PDP and YSRCP have abstained from voting while TDP, DMK, TMC and NCP have decided to go with opposition's candidate. On other hand, NDA's candidate was backed by BJD, TRS and AIADMK. The Telangana Rashtra Samithi maintained silence about whom they are going to vote for, till the last minute of voting.

After some parties decided to boycott the voting, the magic figure came down to 119 as the total count was 237 in the House. So, NDA's candidate emerged triumphant by gaining 6 votes more than the magic figure- which is a tight win for BJP-led government.



09 Aug, 2018 0 677
Posted Comments
Political News Movie News Sports News
Sports News