AP Elections-State To Vote For New CM On April 11th, Results On May 23rd
Category: Political News

Setting the stage for the high-stakes Lok Sabha poll battle, the Election Commission on Sunday evening announced the schedule for Parliament elections in India, including Telangana and AP between 11th April and 19th May. Also, the CEC has declared that model code of conduct will come into force from today.

The counting of votes for Lok Sabha polls will be done on 23rd May, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said announcing the schedule at a press conference in Vigyan Bhavan. Voting will be held in seven phase across the country. Below are the phase wise details:

Phase 1:
Last date of nominations: 25 March, 2019
Polling Date: 11th April
91 constituencies -20 states

Phase 2:
Polling Date: 18th April
97 constituencies- 13states

Phase 3:
Polling Date: 23th April
115 constituencies-14 states

Phase 4:
Date of polling: 29th April
71 constituencies-9 states

Phase 5:
Date of polling:  6th May
51 constituencies- 7 states

Phase 6:
Date of Polling: 12th May
59 constituencies-7 states

Phase 7
Date of Polling: 19th May
59 constituencies -8 states

Date of Results: 23rd May

Elections for Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Goa and Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Punjab, Sikkim, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Andaman and Nicobar, Daman and Diu, Delhi, Pondicherry, Chandigarh and Dadra Haveli will be held in single phase.

Elections for Karnataka, Manipur, Rajasthan and Tripura will be held in two phases.

Assam, Chattisgarh in three phases.

Jharkhand, Madya Pradesh, Maharashtra and Orissa in four states

Jamma Kashmir in five phases

Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal - 7 phases

All the 25 Lok Sabha segments in Andhra Pradesh and 17 in Telangana will go to polls in first phase. i.e on 11 April.

While briefing the press, Arora said that scale and complexity of polls has grown. Some important excerpts from Arora's press meet include, 'Out of 900 million voters on electoral list, 15 million are aged 18-19 and 38,000 are transgenders, others. 17.4 lakh VVPATs (Voter-verified paper audit trail) machines will be deployed. The transportation of EVMs will be GPS-monitored. No loud speakers to be used between 10 PM - 6 AM.' Also, he asked the political parties to declare the social media expenditure and announced a mobile application to report the violations directly.



11 Mar, 2019 0 119
Posted Comments
Political News Movie News Sports News
Sports News